fantasy · Reviews

The Immortal Game | Talia Rothschild and A. C. Harvey: Your New Greek Mythology Obsession!

The Immortal Game | Talia Rothschild and A. C. Harvey

Page count: 400

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Publication date: May 25, 2021

Genres: YA, fantasy, mythology

Links: Goodreads, Amazon, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, Google Play

Synopsis

An exiled goddess goes on a quest to clear her name and save Mount Olympus in Talia Rothschild & A C Harvey’s action-packed young adult debut, The Immortal Game!

Galene, daughter of Poseidon, desperately wants to earn her place among the gods. But when a violent attack leaves Mount Olympus in chaos and ruins, she is accused of the crime. Banished from Olympus, Galene sets out to prove her innocence and discovers a more deadly plot—one that threatens even the oldest of Immortals.

Fortunately, she has allies who willingly join her in exile:

A lifelong friend who commands the wind.
A defiant warrior with deadly skill.
A fire-wielder with a hero’s heart.
A mastermind who plays life like a game.

All-out war is knocking at the gates. Galene and her friends are the only ones who can tip the scales toward justice, but their choices could save Olympus from total annihilation, or be the doom of them all.”

Thank you to Xpresso Book Tours for an ARC in exchange for an honest review!

Thank you to Lia @ Chain of Novels for being a stellar buddy read partner! ❤

The Immortal Game is a fantastic take on Greek mythology perfect for fans of Percy Jackson who want something more YA than middle grade.

I had huge expectations, and I’m so glad that The Immortal Game lived up to them! Ever since I got hooked on Percy Jackson at the age of eight, I’ve loved Greek mythology. I had books and books of them, some fiction stories and others the real myths. I’m always on the hunt for a new mythology book, and this one was nearly perfect!

Galene, daughter of Poseidon, desperately wants to win her immortality and take her place among the gods. But when Olympus is attacked from the inside, she is wrongly accused and exiled. Banished from her home, Galene sets out to earn her way back. Thankfully, she’s not on her own. Four other allies join her in her quest to earn her way home and save Olympus.

There are four POVs in this story. While that could be confusing, I was absolutely delighted. I love a large cast of main characters! There were five of them on the main quest, which seems like the perfect number! I was a little worried that with four MCs and one standalone 400-pager we wouldn’t get enough character development, but I’m more than happy to be wrong sometimes! All four of them were developed well and thoroughly.

The characters themselves were unique and compelling. Galene was the main main character, but that didn’t mean that the others didn’t get their time to shine! I admired Galene’s courage, Kostas’s wits, Braxtos’s passion, and Iyana’s quiet strength. I also loved that we had a character who couldn’t fight but was able to win with his intellect! That isn’t something we see a lot in high fantasy, so I’m infinitely happy to see it.

While I loved all the questing parts with all my heart, I could have done without the war and all the massive battles. When you have the small fights that come with a five-person quest, everything seems very personal. As soon as you add armies, you can’t focus on the characters much and everything becomes distanced from the reader. The quest was a five-star while the war was only a four-star, which is where the 4.5 came from.

All in all, I really loved this book. It scratched that mythology itch that I’ve had since Percy Jackson, and I’m so happy to add another Greek mythology book to my repertoire.

About the Authors | Talia Rothschild and A. C. Harvey

Talia Rothschild, Italian American, is passionate about stories in many forms—music, dance, photography, film and, of course, great novels. She believes in thick hot chocolate and creamer in your tea. When she’s not happily writing, she’s mothering the sweetest baby girl and making memories with her husband. Her debut book The Immortal Game, coauthored with A. C. Harvey, hits the shelves May 2021.

Twitter | Website | Instagram | Goodreads

Ashleigh Harvey is teaching high school physics and bringing her writing dreams to life. English-born and world-traveled, she loves filling her life with new adventures, such as visiting a new country or exploring the Wild West with her husband. She also finds escape in movies, music, literature, and yearly comic conventions. The Immortal Game is her debut novel, created alongside Talia Rothschild, her close friend.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads


Giveaway

One print copy of The Immortal Game, open internationally.

Rafflecopter


What did you think?

10 thoughts on “The Immortal Game | Talia Rothschild and A. C. Harvey: Your New Greek Mythology Obsession!

  1. alex!! oh my gosh do i see 200 followers on your blog? CONGRATS!
    ah this is the third time i’ve seen the immortal game on wordpress and goodreads today, it must be a sign to add it to my tbr… the large cast of main characters and povs sounds great, thank you for the lovely review!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh wow you gave this such a glowing review that now I know I just have to add it to my TBR (you’re one of the best when it comes to YA fantasy recs). I love a cast when it comes to fantasy and greek mythology is always so fun at any age at any time.

    Great review!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s