fantasy · Reviews

Review: She Who Rides the Storm | Caitlin Sangster

She Who Rides the Storm | Caitlin Sangster Page count: 608 Publisher: Margaret K Mcelderry Books Publication date: September 21, 2021 Genres: YA, fantasy, epic fantasy, magic Synopsis "In this atmospheric YA fantasy that is Wicked Saints meets There Will Come a Darkness, four teens are drawn into a high-stakes heist in the perilous tomb of an ancient… Continue reading Review: She Who Rides the Storm | Caitlin Sangster

fantasy · Reviews

ARC Review: Lakesedge | Lyndall Clipstone

Lakesedge (The World at Lake's Edge #1) | Lyndall Clipstone Page count: 384 Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. Publication date: September 28, 2021 Genres: YA, gothic, fantasy Synopsis "A lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer. There are… Continue reading ARC Review: Lakesedge | Lyndall Clipstone

Miscellaneous · T5W

Top 5 Wednesday: Enemies to Lovers

To start off September strong, I'm visiting one of the most debated and well-known tropes: enemies to lovers! Six of Crows | Nina & Matthias "Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a… Continue reading Top 5 Wednesday: Enemies to Lovers

contemporary · Reviews

ARC Review: The Charm Offensive | Alison Cochrun

The Charm Offensive | Alison Cochrun Page count: 368 Publisher: Atria Books Publication date: September 7, 2021 Genres: Adult, contemporary, romance, rom-com Synopsis "Dev Deshpande has always believed in fairy tales. So it’s no wonder then that he’s spent his career crafting them on the long-running reality dating show Ever After. As the most successful producer… Continue reading ARC Review: The Charm Offensive | Alison Cochrun

Miscellaneous · T5W

Top 5 Wednesday: Bookworm Characters

Happy Wednesday, everyone! The prompt for this week's Top 5 Wednesday is "bookworm characters", or characters who love to read! Tessa Grey | The Infernal Devices "In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices… Continue reading Top 5 Wednesday: Bookworm Characters

fantasy · Reviews

ARC Review: Among Thieves | M.J. Kuhn

Among Thieves | M.J. Kuhn Page count: 352 Publisher: Saga Press Publication date: September 7, 2021 Genres: Adult, fantasy Synopsis "A thrilling fantasy debut—a high-stakes heist novel set in a gritty world of magic and malice, and perfect for fans of Six of Crows!In just over a year’s time, Ryia Cautella has already earned herself a… Continue reading ARC Review: Among Thieves | M.J. Kuhn

Miscellaneous · T5W

Top 5 Wednesday: Debut Novels

Debut novels are an author's first published book. Most of the time, the author improves past their first published book. But sometimes, their first book remains my favorite! This list is for debut books that are my favorite of the author's work. Stalking Jack the Ripper | Kerri Maniscalco "Presented by James Patterson's new children's… Continue reading Top 5 Wednesday: Debut Novels

fantasy · Reviews

Five-Star ARC Review: Defy the Night | Brigid Kemmerer

Defy the Night (Defy the Night #1) | Brigid Kemmerer Page count: 496 Publisher: Bloomsbury YA Publication date: September 14, 2021 Genres: YA, fantasy, romance Synopsis "The kingdom of Kandala is on the brink of disaster. Rifts between sectors have only worsened since a sickness began ravaging the land, and within the Royal Palace, the… Continue reading Five-Star ARC Review: Defy the Night | Brigid Kemmerer

fantasy · Reviews

ARC Review: Forestborn | Elayne Audrey Becker

Forestborn (Forestborn #1) | Elayne Audrey Becker Page count: 368 Publisher: Tor Teen Publication date: August 31, 2021 Genres: YA, fantasy Synopsis "Rora is a shifter, as magical as all those born in the wilderness--and as feared. She uses her abilities to spy for the king, traveling under different guises and listening for signs of… Continue reading ARC Review: Forestborn | Elayne Audrey Becker

Miscellaneous · T5W

Top 5 Wednesday: Underrated Authors

Some authors have a fantastic repertoire of books, but they seem to get less love than they should in the book community. These are my top five underrated authors! William Ritter WILLIAM RITTER is an Oregon educator and author of the New York Times bestselling Jackaby series. He is the proud father of the two… Continue reading Top 5 Wednesday: Underrated Authors